Subsidence Advisory NSW

You are here

What we do

Subsidence Advisory NSW supports communities living in areas of New South Wales where there is the possibility of mine subsidence.

We keep communities safe, manage compensation claims for subsidence damage to improvements such as houses, and regulate development in mine subsidence districts to help reduce potential damage.

Learn how we help communities


We take safety seriously, learn more about mine subsidence and how to report safety issues.


Has your property been impacted by mine subsidence? Claim compensation for damages.


Do you plan to develop in a district? You need SA NSW approval prior to commencing work.

Subsidence Advisory NSW is an agency of the NSW Department of Finance, Services & Innovation (DFSI) and operates under the Coal Mine Subsidence Compensation Act 2017.

Changes to the mine subsidence system in NSW took effect from 1 January 2018 following a review of the former Mine Subsidence Compensation Act 1961. The changes make the mine subsidence compensation processes easier for property owners and provide a more equitable model for mining operators. Learn more about the changes here.

The Mine Subsidence Board

Subsidence Advisory NSW is governed and overseen by a Board of six members:

- The Chairperson, who is the Secretary of DFSI or a nominee of the Secretary

- A person nominated with appropriate expertise in coal mine operations

- A nominee of colliery proprietors (the owners of coal mines)

- A representative of local government

- A representative of the community (the owners of improvements)

- An officer of NSW Public Works who is eligible to be a corporate member of the Institution of Engineers, Australia.

In the exercise of its duties and functions, the Board is subject to the provisions of the NSW Government Boards and Committees Guidelines. Certain duties and functions are delegated to Subsidence Advisory NSW.

Following the changes to the mine subsidence compensation system on 1 January 2018, the Board will be disbanded on 31 December 2018 in line with Government’s commitment to make processes leaner and more efficient. The Board is being retained for a 12-month period to oversee the transition to the new system.